Two steps back, two steps forward

10 Jan

This is a dance I’ve done before but it never gets easy. 

Vueling Edinburgh-Barcelona-Seville with a five-hour transit in Barcelona. Straight forward. Baggage handlers thought otherwise. Ten of us stood at the baggage carousel at Seville airport for an hour waiting for bags that never came. Then we all trotted to the lost luggage desk where one person had to process all of us. There was nothing in the system about my missing suitcase. Arrived hotel 1am Monday morning.

 

No drama, I’d posted my flamenco shoes and practice clothes ahead to the hotel so I’d have the most important items. My package arrived in good time but Spanish customs held me to ransom for 41 euros import duty on old shoes and clothes manufactured in Spain. The post office staff just shrugged their shoulders, not their monkey….

 Now for the steps forward.

 

Morning tangos class at Academia Manuel Betanzos is with handsome, kind and good-humoured Eduardo Guerrero. Oh, and he is a devastatingly good dancer to boot. With only six of us in class (I’m told January is much quieter than September) he spots and corrects everything.

Manuel’s beautiful boy keeps an eye on us.My happy place.
I’ve rented a daily practice studio from Francesca again and am auditing a couple of evening classes to see what I might add next week when my body is ready. I’ve done zero flamenco since I was here for La Bienal and half that time I was ill. Slowly, slowly.

 

I moved into my Triana apartment yesterday and it’s perfect. Top floor with lift, private sun terrace on the roof, gorgeous views, bath and washing machine. All the elements to make my 47 nights here comfortable.

 

Thanks to the lovely Roshanne I found Rosi Navarro Villanueva, the singer guitarist who, with Patricia Lozano, teaches group flamenco singing classes in La Macarena on Monday nights. Finally I am diving into cante. Rosi and Patricia make learning fun and with a big class I can hide my appalling first attempts. It’s all in Spanish but I’m getting 90 per cent of what they say.

 

Last but not least I bought a secondhand mountain bike at Triana Bicycles. By the time I added a heavy duty chain and lock, swapped out the clip-on for locked on wheels and seat, and bought front and back lights and a helmet, the total was a fair few taxi rides. Still, you can’t put a price on freedom. There is no way I’m going to stay in at night when there is flamenco out there!Here she is in the practice studio.

My local.


My suitcase arrived at the hotel (which I had already checked out of) at 11:30pm last night. Thankfully the hotel’s after hours phone service called me to say there was a man with my suitcase standing on the street outside the hotel. (Why the baggage service didn’t call me is a mystery.) I bolted the four blocks and thankfully he was still there.

 

And so the dance continues….

 

8 Responses to “Two steps back, two steps forward”

  1. higonrg@cs.com January 10, 2017 at 7:54 pm #

    hello Sharon, glad to see you are back in Sevilla. I’m finding this BA daily nonstop Gatwick-Seville flight quite economical! cheers, -ig

    • Sharon Tickle January 10, 2017 at 9:11 pm #

      Thanks for the tip, unfortunately connecting from Edinburgh is the problem. Our son has made his home there so we try to swing by as often as we can. I would take Easyjet over Vueling any day!

  2. Jacinthe Malo January 10, 2017 at 8:56 pm #

    Lovely thanks for sharing, I love Sevilla. I hope you have a wonderful time. See you in Jerez hopefully! jacinthe

    • Sharon Tickle January 10, 2017 at 9:08 pm #

      Yes Jacinthe! I will be there for the whole two weeks ;-)). Hasta pronto, Sxx

  3. scratchbriannm January 10, 2017 at 9:42 pm #

    Sorry to hear about the drama with suitcases!

    The apartment looks good and so dose your local.

    Cheerio

    Brian

    ________________________________

    • Sharon Tickle January 11, 2017 at 6:40 am #

      Thanks B, it sounds petty in the scheme of things but having experienced losing a suitcase before I was anxious about it happening again. Yes, I eat out for breakfast every day and so far never disappointed. Am seeing how far into the month I can go without alcohol so lots of tea and coffee! Sxx

  4. June Fitzgerald. January 12, 2017 at 7:15 am #

    Glad to hear you have settled back into Spain. Love to see a video of you dancing ! Cheers cuz June.

    • Sharon Tickle January 12, 2017 at 3:29 pm #

      Ha ha, that could take a whileJune but if ever there is one u will be amongst the first to see it. Sxx

Leave a Reply

